Friday Finds: Free Printable from the Idea Room & Summer Fresh Bean Salad Recipe

Summer is in the air here in Ottawa today and my C and I got to celebrate the sunshine and warmth with Purple Eggplant Mel’s kiddos.

kiddos

And I am lucky enough to take full advantage of this sun by spending the evening outside tonight at a BBQ.   Something about having snow for so many months of the year that makes days like this that much sweeter.

I was in need of a pot luck item and a hostess gift and thought, hey, this would make a great Friday Find !

Before summer BBQs and parties get into full swing, we have a brilliant idea from the Idea Room to share with you…and a Summer Fresh Bean Salad recipe of our own!

I don’t know about you, but sometimes, I see all these super wicked hostess gifts on Pinterest, but never get around to actually making one. This is one that will be your go to – or at least it will be mine this summer ! So simple, adorable and brilliant ! You need only 5 supplies and it comes with a free printable. Check out the Homemade Lemonade printable and summer hostess gift from the Idea Room here.

It comes together so nicely ! Hmmmm…But I think I need to pick up some yellow chevron ribbon !  I always feel a sense of fulfillment when I actually put my pins to use!

lemonade kit assembled

I was lucky enough 2 summers ago to taste the yummiest summer salad prepared by Purple Eggplant Mel.

Have a look…

salad close up

Delish right?

Pulling together these simple, seasonal and fresh ingredients will make you the hit of any backyard summer party. And your body will thank you too ! We at Purple Eggplant are thinking more and more about eating healthy and whole foods, and this fits right in.

What you need:

1/2 red pepper chopped
1/2 yellow pepper chopped
1/2 orange pepper chopped
1/2 cup of chopped cilantro
2 fresh limes squeezed
1 cup of mangos diced
1 1/2 cup of black beans
1 avacado diced
salt and pepper to taste

mix it all together and you have the perfect summer salad !

salad

{ do they make cute portable salad bowls? all I have is this plain one. If you know where I can find one, I would love to know ! }

Do you have a go to hostess gift, or a favored pot luck item ? We’d love to hear about them !

jay2

1 thought on “Friday Finds: Free Printable from the Idea Room & Summer Fresh Bean Salad Recipe

  1. Pingback: Eating Healthy Made Easier | PurpleEggplant

Leave a comment